A Man Called Ove

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman


Ove stomped forward. The cat stood up. Ove stopped. They stood there measuring each other up for a few moments, like two potential troublemakers in a small-town bar. Ove considered throwing one of his clogs at it. The cat looked as if it regretted not bringing its own clogs to lob back. -A Man Called Ove

Hi everyone! So today I want to talk about one of the most heartwarming books I have read in a while. It was originally written in Swedish and translated in 2014 and is an incredibly charming novel; A Man Called Ove is a must read if you are in the mood to laugh and cry from beginning to end.

This was another one of my book club’s picks and admittedly I did not want to read it at first. It was a little bit out of my normal genre, and for some reason I didn’t want to give it a try. Luckily I did end up giving it a chance, and let me tell you, I am so glad I did!

This is a story about a disgruntled old man who keeps failing to kill himself. He is angry and intolerable and finds faults with everyone he comes into contact with. From the very first sentence,Ove establishes himself as the grumpiest man you could imagine. As the story unfolds, the reader is slowly granted insight into Ove’s mind, past, and feelings, creating a more complete understanding of his character and the reasons behind his grumpiness. As Ove becomes more and more involved with his neighbors, who he believes all to be idiots, the reader learns to love this grumpy character more and more and appreciate him for more than what he initially appears to be.

I love reading and I love most genres, but there is something about a book that makes you tear up and laugh out loud that really holds a special place in my heart. Between Ove’s wonderfully dysfunctional relationship with his neighbors and the stray unruly cat (easily my favorite relationship in the book), this story line is sure to make you laugh. But as you learn more about Ove, you fall more in love with his character and his quirks and it may cause a few tears along the way as well.

This story hilariously outlines all the reasons we shouldn’t “judge a book by it’s cover” while giving you likeable characters, a charming story line, and a ton of laughs. If you want an easy to read, easy to follow book that is sure to give you all the feels, pick this one up, it wont disappoint.

Have you read this one? What did you think of it? Have you read any other books that similarly teach you a lesson in humility while making you laugh the whole time? Please share what you think! I would also love to hear if anyone else loved the cat as much as I did, Ove and its relationship had me laughing out loud the whole book!

Thanks for stopping by and happy reading!

FullSizeRender.jpg-1

9 thoughts on “A Man Called Ove

      1. Never would have selected this book without your recommendation, but once I got started I regretted to see it end. Effortlessly clever and totally honest. I understood all of the characters and enjoyed sharing their lives.
        Thank you for telling us about “A Man Called Ove”

        Liked by 1 person

      2. So glad you enjoyed it!! I agree, the characters were engaging and it was a clever read. I also was sad to see it end. You may enjoy the other book the author wrote, “My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry” very cute and I found it hilarious, I continuously was laughing out loud.

        Like

      1. Will do! (If I can find this post by the time I get to it. Usually that might be months or years, but I think Ove might be in luck because the topic and mood, as you describe it, meshes well with my current reading cycle, so he might jump the queue πŸ™‚ )

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks, writing the email address now πŸ™‚

        (You know how it is on WP, after a while the comments that you’ve made on other blogs gets pushed down by the newer ones … or am I wrong, can you view *all* the comments you’ve made elsewhere, ever?)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

